360 WebCMS - News
Dew Point:

Live on KCCR
The last Monday of each
month at 2:00 p.m.



Category: Local Sports

Mullen Continuing Basketball Career @ Jamestown

Saturday, December 20, 2014

Pierre Lady Governor senior basketball player Jory Mullen has signed her letter of intent to continue her basketball career at Jamestown College in North Dakota. Mullen has been playing varsity basketball for the Lady Governor for the past three seasons. Mullen joins a Jamestown basketball program that made an appearance in the NAIA National basketball tournament.  The Jimmies finished the season with a 27-5 record.

CategoriesLocal Sports,

YMCA’s 3 On 3 Basketball Tournament

Saturday, December 20, 2014

The 3rd Annual Holiday Classic 3-on-3 Basketball Tournament is being held Dec. 29 for 5th & 6th graders & on Dec. 30 for 7th & 8th graders at the Oahe YMCA.  The YMCA gym will be closed to the public from 4-10pm on both days.  The entry deadline is December 22 and entry forms are available at the YMCA or on their website atwww.oaheymca.org

CategoriesLocal Sports,

Kritenbrink Earns AVCA Honorable Mention All-American Honors

Saturday, December 20, 2014

(From USD Sports Information Desk)

Kendall Kritenbrink was named a Division I Honorable Mention All-American by the American Volleyball Coaches Association (AVCA) in a release by the organization. It’s the second straight year she has earned the honor. Kritenbrink was an all-Summit League honoree this season while averaging 4.23 kills per set and 2.58 digs per set. She was third in the league in kills (499) and total points (556). Kritenbrink leaves USD as its all-time kills leader at 1,925. She also ranks fifth among active D-I players in in kills and sixth in kills per set (4.36).


CategoriesLocal Sports,

Hluchy To Play Soccer @ Concordia

Friday, December 19, 2014
Morgan Hluchy has been accepted & has committed to play soccer for Concordia College in Moorhead, MN beginning in the fall of 2015. Hluchy will be majoring in Pre-Med/Biology and looking to fill a void in Coach Roos’ mid-field with the loss of his two Senior starters.  The Concordia Cobbers had a 13-5-3 record last year losing in OT in the first round of the NCAA Tournament against Aurora. Hluchy has served as captain of the South Dakota United Legacy Team that made a trip to the National President’s Tournament in Auburndale, FL in 2013 & was a former Lady Governor Soccer Player.
CategoriesLocal Sports,

PACA Athletes of the Week

Friday, December 19, 2014
Dawson Monfore & Sydney Palmer have been named Pierre Athletic Coaches Association Athletes of the Week. Monfore receives the honor this week after winning the  Rapid City Invitational this past weekend.  This is one of the toughest tournaments the Governors compete at during the season which includes the state tournament. Monfore avenged his only loss on the season in the finals in route to his championship. Palmer led the Lady Govs to their season opening win over the Mitchell Kernels. Palmer  had 19 points and 11 rebounds and played a strong all-around game. 
CategoriesLocal Sports,

Scotties Defeat Lady Buffs

Friday, December 19, 2014

Thursday was another long evening for the Stanley County Lady Buffalo basketball team as they suffered their fourth consecutive loss to the hands of rival Philip 56-19. The Scotties used a 14-0 run that spanned from midway in the second quarter to the beginning of third quarter to pull away from the Lady Buffs & win their second game of the season. Philip’s Shay Hand scored a game high 19 points. For the Lady Buffs, they were led by senior Lily Cook who scored 10 points. The Lady Buffs are now 0-4 & return to the Parkview Gymnasium on Monday to face on of Class B’s top squads & District 13B rival Jones County. Tip-off is slated for 5PM. 

CategoriesLocal Sports,

Philip Sneaks Past Stanley County

Friday, December 19, 2014

Stanley County kept undefeated Philip on their toes all evening but just could not buy the bucket to swing the momentum of the game in their favor as the Buffs fell 48-38. Trailing by five late in the fourth quarter, Daulton Mercer drained a three point basket to pull the Buffs within two of Philip. On the next Philip possession, guard Nelson Hollman answered Mercer’s three pointer to put the Scotties up by five with 90 seconds left. Damon Hoftiezer led Stanley County in scoring with 11 points. The Buffs will play their first game at home this coming Monday as part of a boys/girls doubleheader against Jones County. The boy’s game tips off at 6:30PM.

CategoriesLocal Sports,

Boys Basketball Scores From 12-18-14

Friday, December 19, 2014

Aberdeen Roncalli 76, Britton-Hecla 43

Canistota 65, Freeman 38

Ethan 57, Dakota Christian 47

Faith 81, Bison 17

Gregory 81, Colome 50

Hanson 50, Menno 28

Herreid/Selby Area 52, Faulkton 29

Hettinger/Scranton, N.D. 64, Harding County 62

Hitchcock-Tulare 60, Wessington Springs 26

Langford 89, Ipswich 44

Madison 48, Lennox 47

Mitchell Christian 44, Kimball/White Lake 43

Mt. Vernon/Plankinton 67, Corsica/Stickney 44

Parker 66, Alcester-Hudson 54

Philip 48, Stanley County 38

Platte-Geddes 54, Burke/South Central 41

Rapid City Christian 80, Dupree 36

Redfield/Doland 43, Milbank Area 32

Sanborn Central/Woonsocket 74, Tripp-Delmont/Armour 47

Sisseton 65, Webster 53

Sturgis 62, Douglas 60

Sully Buttes JV 69, Edmunds Central 16

Warner 83, Northwestern 35

CategoriesLocal Sports,

Girls Basketball Scores From 12-18-14

Friday, December 19, 2014

DeSmet 58, Dell Rapids St. Mary 30

Douglas 66, Hot Springs 29

Edgemont 45, Sioux County, Neb. 29

Elkton-Lake Benton 62, Colman-Egan 38

Estelline 44, Lake Preston 35

Ethan 53, Dakota Christian 21

Fairmount-Campbell-Tintah, N.D. 50, Sisseton 26

Hamlin 60, Clark/Willow Lake 57

Hanson 52, Menno 22

Hartington Cedar Catholic, Neb. 48, Avon 39

Highmore-Harrold 72, Potter County 50

Kimball/White Lake 49, Mitchell Christian 42

Milbank JV 40, Grant-Deuel 32

Mt. Vernon/Plankinton 60, Corsica/Stickney 23

Oldham-Ramona/Rutland 46, Arlington 36

Parker 68, Alcester-Hudson 45

Philip 56, Stanley County 19

Rapid City Christian 32, Dupree 20

Sanborn Central/Woonsocket 52, Tripp-Delmont/Armour 30

Scotland 53, Bon Homme 43

Sully Buttes JV 77, Edmunds Central 17

Timber Lake 47, Mobridge-Pollock 42

Wall 61, Harding County 30

Warner 58, Northwestern 42

Wessington Springs 51, Hitchcock-Tulare 39

Winner 63, Burke/South Central 33

Wolsey-Wessington 77, Iroquois 24

CategoriesLocal Sports,

Mitchell Teen Swimmer Qualifies For Olympic Trials

Friday, December 19, 2014

(From AP)

A teenage swimmer in Mitchell is one step closer to her dream of competing in the Olympics. High school junior Tevyn Waddell has qualified for the 2016 Olympic Trials by recording a time of 1 minute, 2.63 seconds in the 100-meter backstroke — a South Dakota state record. Waddell recorded the time last weekend at the USA Swimming Junior National Championship Meet in Washington state. The 2016 Trials are in late June and early July in Omaha, Nebraska.

CategoriesLocal Sports,

Next Page

Follow Us
Copyright 2014 - KCCR/KLXS Radio, Pierre, SD 605/224-1240. Material cannot be published, broadcast, edited or distributed without permission from KCCR/KLXS-Riverfront Broadcasting Web site developed and hosted by Factor 360, Inc.
Listen Live
Current Promotions