360 WebCMS - News
Dew Point:

Live on KCCR
The last Monday of each
month at 2:00 p.m.



Category: Local Sports

SD Sportswriters' Volleyball Poll This Week

Wednesday, September 24, 2014



1. Sioux Falls O’Gorman

2. Aberdeen Central

3. Watertown

4. Rapid City Stevens

5. Spearfish


Also Receiving Votes: Sioux Falls Washington




1. Sioux Falls Christian

2. Dakota Valley

3. Mt. Vernon / Plankinton

4. Wagner

5. Pine Ridge


Also Receiving Votes: Sioux Valley, Bon Homme, Belle Fourche, Winner




1. Warner

2. Northwestern

3. Chester Area

4. Parker

5. Arlington


Also Receiving Votes: Elkton-Lake Benton 

CategoriesLocal Sports,

Local Volleyball Games Tonight 9-23-14

Tuesday, September 23, 2014

Miller @ Stanley County

Brookings @ Pierre

Colome @ Winner

Potter County @ Ipswich

McIntosh @ Herried-Selby

Sully Buttes @ Eureka/Bowdle

Iroquois @ Hitchcock-Tulare

Highmore-Harrold @ Faulkton

Todd County @ Gregory

Rapid City Christian @ Jones County

Lyman @ Wall 

CategoriesLocal Sports,

SDHSAA Board of Directors Holding Meeting Today

Tuesday, September 23, 2014

Chairman Rick Weber has called for a Special Meeting of the South Dakota High School Activities Association’s Board of Directors at 9:00 AM CT this morning to discuss changes to policy specific to road races, Cross Country, & review of eligibility of affected student athletes. The meeting of the Board of Directors will be conducted via teleconference and made available to the public through live online streaming as well as through normal practices at the SDHSAA Office in Pierre.

CategoriesLocal Sports,

SD Sportswriters' Football Poll This Week

Tuesday, September 23, 2014

Class 11AAA


1. SF Lincoln

2. SF Roosevelt

3. SF O’Gorman

4. Brandon Valley

5. Aberdeen Central



Class 11AA


1. Yankton

T-2. Harrisburg

T-2. Brookings

4. Pierre

5. Watertown


Also receiving votes: Douglas



Class 11A


1 West Central

2. Madison

3. Dell Rapids

4. Tea Area

5. Sisseton


Also receiving votes: Hot Springs, Vermillion



Class 11B


1. Parkston

2. Winner

3. St. Thomas More

4. Aberdeen Roncalli

5. McCook/Central/Montrose



Class 9AA


1. Gregory

2. Arlington

3. Woonsocket/Sanborn/Wessington

4. Garretson

5. Bridgewater Emery-Ethan


Also receiving votes: Menno-Marion



Class 9A


1. Howard

2. Wolsey-Wessington

3. Potter County

4. Alcester-Hudson

5. Herried-Selby Area


Also receiving votes: Warner



Class 9B


1. Canistota

2. Hamlin

3. Harding County

4. Avon

5. Dell Rapids St. Mary


Also receiving votes: Eureka-Bowdle , Langford Area


CategoriesLocal Sports,

Govs Finish 3rd In Final Tune Before ESD

Tuesday, September 23, 2014

In their final tune up before they compete in the ESD Conference Golf tournament Saturday in Aberdeen, the Pierre Governor golf team fired a 320 on Monday at the Watertown Invitational to finish third. Watertown won the event on their home course shooting a score of 301 followed by Aberdeen Central at a 313. Pierre Governor Austin Hoss finished three shots off the lead Monday with a 74 to finish 3rd overall. Andrew Van Gerpen shot a 77 that dropped him into a six way tie for fifth on the day. Ben Deis shot an 84 on Monday followed by senior Matt Booth who fired an 85. Rounding out the Governors day was Coleman Varty, who shot an 89 & Landon Badger with a 94. The Pierre Governor will now look to Saturday for the Eastern South Dakota Conference tournament. The tournament tees off on Saturday at 10AM. 

CategoriesLocal Sports,

Getz In Second, Jacks Third @ Jackrabbit Invitational

Tuesday, September 23, 2014
(From SDSU Sports Information Desk) 

Former Pierre Lady Governor & SDSU sophomore Hallie Getz shot a two-round 150 to help the South Dakota State women’s golf team place third after two rounds of the third annual Jackrabbits Fall Invitational Monday at the Minnehaha Country Club.

The Jackrabbits shot a 307 in the first round and a 313 in the second as North Dakota State leads followed by Drake in the eight-team field. Getz shot a 75 in both the first round and second rounds as she trails Alex Schmid from North Dakota State by three strokes. Third round action continues this morning. 

CategoriesLocal Sports,

Lady Buff Volleyball Takes 6th @ Big Dakota Conference

Monday, September 22, 2014

The Stanley County Lady Buffalo volleyball team defeated McLaughlin & fell to Mobridge-Pollock to finish 6th overall at the Big Dakota Conference tournament on Saturday in Fort Pierre. Stanley County defeated McLaughlin in game one of the tournament by scores of 25-11 & 25-19. Later in the afternoon, the Lady Buffs fell to top seeded Mobridge-Pollock 25-20, 23-25, & 25-14. Winner won the Big Dakota Conference tournament this year defeating Mobridge. Stanley County senior Tawnee Whitley was named to the All-Tournament team. The Lady Buffs return to action Tuesday when they host Miller. 

CategoriesLocal Sports,

Governors Ride Leiferman’s Hat Trick, Lady Govs Shutout

Sunday, September 21, 2014

The Pierre Governor soccer team defeated Harrisburg, 4-1, on Saturday to keep their name in the discussion for the postseason which starts week. Derek Leiferman came up big for the Governors tallying three unassisted goals. Junior Cole Cruse scored the other mark for Pierre. For the Lady Governors, their postseason hopes took a big hit on Saturday after falling to Harrisburg, 1-0. 8th grade goalkeeper Mackenzie Rath, who is still filling in for starting & injured keeper Kayla Rounds, saw only two shots on Saturday. Pierre will host Yankton Friday which will be the final home game for the Governors & Lady Governors. Pierre will finish out the weekend & season on the road against Huron. 

CategoriesLocal Sports,

State Ranked Aberdeen Dismantles Pierre

Sunday, September 21, 2014

The Pierre Lady Governor volleyball team traveled to undefeated Aberdeen Central on Saturday night & the Golden Eagles swept the Lady Govs 25-14, 25-15, & 25-20. Kelsey Schmitz tallied12 kills & Jordan Lemieux had a team high 8 assists to lead the Lady Governors. Pierre falls to 3-5 on the season & will return to the Riggs High Gymnasium on Tuesday for a match against Brookings. 

CategoriesLocal Sports,

Pierre Cross Country 3rd @ Huron Invitational

Sunday, September 21, 2014

The Pierre Governor & Lady Governor Cross Country teams both placed third at the Huron Invitational on Saturday. Head coach Jim Keyes has said that the he likes his runners competing on this course at this time in season since the ESD & the state cross country meet will be held in Huron on October 25th.  For the Governors, junior Jebben Keyes recorded the best finish as he came in 8th in a time of 16:53. Seth McKinley placed 19th & Jack Wollman was 26th. The Lady Governors were led by Rachel Propst who finished 10th with a time of 15:53. Hannah Schaffer placed 20th & junior Cortney Dowling followed for 21st. The Pierre Cross Country team has time off now & will not run against until the start of October for the Watertown Invitational. 

CategoriesLocal Sports,

Next Page

Follow Us
Copyright 2014 - KCCR/KLXS Radio, Pierre, SD 605/224-1240. Material cannot be published, broadcast, edited or distributed without permission from KCCR/KLXS-Riverfront Broadcasting Web site developed and hosted by Factor 360, Inc.
Listen Live
Current Promotions